By default, when signing into Windows with a Microsoft …

By default, when signing into Windows with a Microsoft account, Windows syncs some of your settings and data with Microsoft servers, for example “web browser history, favorites, and websites you have “open” as well as “saved app, website, mobile hotspot, and Wi-Fi network names  and passwords”. Users can however deactivate this transfer to the Microsoft servers by changing their settings. More problematic from a data protection perspective is however the fact that Windows generates a unique advertising ID for each user on a device. This advertising ID can be used by third parties, such as app developers and advertising networks for profiling purposes. Also, when device encryption is on, Windows automatically encrypts the drive Windows is installed on and generates a recovery key. The BitLocker recovery key for the user’s device is automatically backed up online in the Microsoft OneDrive account.

EDRi: Microsoft’s new small print – how your personal data is (ab)used

(View on gamamb.tumblr.com)

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *